The Tale of Arturo my Cat and I

I named my cat Arturo. She is a cute furry bundle of joy. I got the name from some moive program I was watching a few years back (can’t remember the name). Arturo and I have been friends for the longest time ever. Say eight years, or so […]

baby-art  We have forested a relationship that has made communication between us much easier than I had ever hoped. She comes up to me when I’m watching TV, having my meals or when she reveals herself in a particular verbal phrase when she appears in my line of sight.14799887_10209403944047643_1741298094_o

When I come back home from my projects, errands, or work, I actually seek her out to remind her of how much I love her and how much I miss her every time I leave home. Hence, I would peck her on the head, stroke her furry head and her body or use verbal means of communication to communicate.

At times, it would be hard to get hold of her because she would either disappear to our neighbor’s places or would hide somewhere in the house to have a nice quiet nap. I had to learn to predict Arturo’s body language to know what she wanted because her verbal communication of meowing was not always easy to tell exactly what was on her mind.

tu

Arturo can be quite sneaky and at times can be mistrustful. If for instance, you leave your food lying around for a second she would help herself to it, at one time, she came running to the kitchen and came across some hot oil in a pan that had been placed on the floor by my younger brother, and she got one of her ears burnt. Still, I got a Veterinary who treated the wound but lost her ear. But she recovered after the ordeal and survived the eight years without one ear.

sunlight

Whenever she got hungry, she would shove her empty  plate around the floor. In case she was in the mood of playing, to get my attention, she would play with stuff. And that would get me on my feet, and we would have a nice time just playing anything with her. I had joined the sales and marketing of insurance products, and I was the most nervous person on this earth. Just the mere thought of talking to strangers either on the phone or approach them was terrifying to me.baby

Thus, I would sit Arturo down and speak to her as though I was talking to a client to build my confidence. And interestingly enough, she would sit there and just stare at me listening attentively as though she understood what I was saying. (Crazy, I know). But it helped me a lot. In fact, I now have the confidence even to speak in public places and meetings.

girl

She has given birth three times, and I had plans for her to get … I have been giving out her kittens to my friends and only remained with one – male by the name Tin Tin. Tin Tin and her mother had a sort of “frenemy” relationship. They would fight for attention or compete to come and sit where I was and in a particular spot. They would glare at each of there, waved their paws at each other and drew back their ears ready for war. If I expressed my disapproval for their behavior, both or one of them would bolt out of the room annoyed.tin

Unfortunately, last week, Arturo died. I was not home at the moment, but I was informed she got sickly one evening and the next day, she was found dead outside. She left behind Tin Tin and couple of young kittens she had just given birth to. I was devastated when I heard the news.arturo

Arturo had become part of my life. I was at a loss for words. I regretted why I had not started my blog earlier on and shared with you the tales of my Cats, Arturo and Tin Tin. But I will miss her – terribly. I loved her very much, and I hope she has found peace in her animal spirit world. I’m however glad she left us Tin Tin and four more kittens as her legacy. I will keep telling you tales of Tin Tin and her siblings once in a while. Find out more on  Tin Tin’s breed here and Arturo’s breed here.

This is a prayer for my Arturo.

O God, you have redeemed all creation
through the incarnation of your eternal Word;
Protect our pets, your creatures,
who provide us with joy
and nonjudgmental companionship;
Give us respect
for all of your redeemed creation,
that we may care for creation
as just and humble stewards;
We pray this in the name of the same Word, Jesus Christ,
who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit,
one God, now and forever.

Leave a Reply

